In 1979, the Islamic Revolution gave birth
to a new beginning for Iran.

But every beginning has an ending…
…And every ending has a new beginning.


About Matt

Matt has a bachelor's degree from Hampden-Sydney College, a liberal arts institution in Virginia, where he majored in history and political science. He had the honor of studying under former Director of the Defense Intelligence Agency, General Sam Wilson. After moving from the Hampton Roads area in 2006, Matt now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with his wife and their golden retrievers, Bruce and Walter. Matt's latest action-packed political spy thriller is the forthcoming THE AYATOLLAH TAKEDOWN (releasing on 3/21/23 from Speaking Volumes). His two previous novels in the series include SURVIVING THE LION'S DEN (2021) and THE IRANIAN DECEPTION (2022).


About The Ayatollah Takedown

A charging storm brews over Iran. In an act of desperation, the Supreme Leader turns to China for protection from the West. But Revolutionary Guard commander Ramin Lajani is conspiring with CIA operatives Ben Thrasher and Beth Jenkins to overthrow him. When the storm passes, will a new Iran rise at dawn or will the Supreme Leader make one last stand?

The Ayatollah Takedown trailer

Play Video

Surviving the Lion's Den Series

Books 1 & 2 On Sale Now!

Read Matt's Latest Blog


Hall of Purple Light In the beginning of the novel, Ayatollah Shir-Del meets with the General Secretary of China in Beijing. Due to restrictions in place by the Communist government, pictures inside the building are prohibited so I had to use my imagination a little bit when the two characters sit down to discuss their oil deal, but the building is used today for…

Read More